Geddy Lee of Rush

Favazz interviews Geddy Lee of Rush in May 1995


Behind the Shrink Wrap: Jar of Flies

Jar of Flies was the second studio EP by Alice in Chains, released January 25, 1994 through Columbia Records. It is the first EP in music history to debut at number one on the Billboard 200 Chart with the first week sales exceeding 141,000 copies in the U.S. The EP has since been certified triple-platinum…


Behind the Shrink Wrap: Get a Grip

Get a Grip was Aerosmith’s eleventh studio album, released April 20, 1993 by Geffen Records. It was the band’s last studio album to be released by Geffen before they returned to Columbia Records. Track listing 1. “Intro” 2. “Eat the Rich” 3. “Get a Grip” 4. “Fever” 5. “Livin’ on the Edge” 6. “Flesh” 7.…


Behind the Shrink Wrap: Badmotorfinger

Badmotorfinger was the third studio album by Soundgarden, released October 8, 1991 through A&M Records. After touring in support of its previous album, Louder Than Love (1989), Soundgarden began the recording sessions for its next album with new bassist Ben Shepherd. The music on the album maintained the band’s heavy metal sound while featuring an…


Right to Rock Rally

Thursday, April 12, 1990 at Union Station


Behind the Shrink Wrap: In Step

In Step was the fourth studio album by Stevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble released in 1989. The title In Step can be seen as referring to Vaughan’s new-found sobriety, following the years of drug and alcohol use that eventually led Vaughan into rehabilitation. It was also Vaughan’s final album with Double Trouble. In 1990,…


Behind the Shrink Wrap: In the Dark

Released July 6, 1987, In the Dark was the 12th studio album by the Grateful Dead. It was the band’s first album in six years, and its first studio album since 1980’s Go to Heaven. It became unexpectedly popular achieving double platinum certification in the U.S., their only top ten album reaching #6 on the…


Where’s O’KSHE?

St. Patrick’s Day Parade in Downtown St. Louis – March 14, 1987


Behind the Shrink Wrap: The Unforgettable Fire

Released October 1, 1984, The Unforgettable Fire was the fourth studio album by U2. The band wanted a different musical direction following the harder-hitting rock of their 1983 album War. They employed Brian Eno and Daniel Lanois to produce and assist them experiment with a more ambient and abstract sound. The resulting change in direction…


Behind the Shrink Wrap: 90125

90125 was the eleventh studio album from the English progressive rock band Yes, released November 7, 1983 on Atco Records. Four singles were released from the album, “Owner of a Lonely Heart,” “It Can Happen,” “Changes,” and “Leave It.” “Owner of a Lonely Heart” reached Number 1 on the Billboard Hot 100 and Hot Mainstream Rock…


Behind the Shrink Wrap: Three Lock Box

Three Lock Box was Sammy Hagar’s seventh solo album released November 30, 1982. His only top 20 solo hit, “Your Love Is Driving Me Crazy,” reached #13 on the Billboard Hot 100 in 1983. Track listing 1. “Three Lock Box”2. “Remote Love”3. “Remember the Heroes”4. “Your Love Is Driving Me Crazy”5. “In the Room”6. “Rise…


Behind the Shrink Wrap: For Those About to Rock (We Salute You)

For Those About to Rock (We Salute You) was AC/DC’s seventh internationally released studio album and the eighth to be released in Australia. Released in 1981, the album is a follow-up to their highly successful album Back in Black. It has sold over four million copies in the U.S. and would be AC/DC’s first and only…

Degüello © ZZ Top, Warner Bros. Records [Fair Use]

Behind the Shrink Wrap: Degüello

Degüello was the sixth studio album by ZZ Top, released in 1979. It was the first ZZ Top release on Warner Bros. Records and eventually went platinum. The album was produced by Bill Ham, recorded and mixed by Terry Manning, and mastered by Bob Ludwig. Track listing 1. “I Thank You” 2. “She Loves My…


Behind the Shrink Wrap: Evolution

Evolution was Journey’s fifth studio album. It was released in April of 1979 on Columbia Records and was their highest charting album to date. The band retained Roy Thomas Baker as producer but drummer Aynsley Dunbar was replaced with Steve Smith, formerly with Ronnie Montrose’s band. Evolution features their first top 20 hit, “Lovin’, Touchin’,…