Museum : Hall of Fame


Inducted April 4, 2007

Rush was formed in August 1968 in the Willowdale neighbourhood of Toronto, Ontario. The band is composed of bassist, keyboardist, and lead vocalist Geddy Lee; guitarist and backing vocalist Alex Lifeson; and drummer, percussionist, and lyricist Neil Peart. The band and its membership went through several re-configurations between 1968 and 1974, achieving its current form when Peart replaced original drummer John Rutsey in July 1974, two weeks before the group's first United States tour. Since the release of the band's self-titled debut album in March 1974, Rush has become known for its musicianship, complex compositions, and eclectic lyrical motifs drawing heavily on science fiction, fantasy, history, and philosophy. According to the RIAA, Rush ranks 80th with sales of 25 million units in the United States. The group has been awarded 24 gold, 14 platinum, and 3 multi-platinum albums. Rush has received seven Grammy award nominations, although it has never won a Grammy. The band, however, has won several Juno Awards, was inducted into the Canadian Music Hall of Fame in 1994, and inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013.

Real Rock Museum Spotlight : Rush

10 Things You Might Not Know About Rush

1 of 10
  • Yxiw7kfp9Tw
Original Members
Photo by:
The original lineup was formed in 1968 in the neighbourhood of Willowdale in Toronto, Ontario, by Alex Lifeson, bassist and front man Jeff Jones, and drummer John Rutsey. Within a couple of weeks of forming, and before their second performance, Jones left the band. He was replaced by Geddy Lee, a schoolmate of Lifeson

Related articles


Inducted November 7, 2017
Inducted January 9, 2017
Inducted April 13, 2007